High-Performing Alumni

interlochen center for the arts high performing alumni

(Pictured: Anthony McGill, Ashley Park, and Anthony Rapp)

Interlochen alumni go on to prestigious and satisfying careers in the arts, cultural, service, and business sectors. Many have made significant contributions to their fields and achieved exceptional success. Here is a sampling of Interlochen alumni and their achievements.

Alumni Accomplishments

  • 48 Presidential Scholars, the nation's highest award for outstanding achievement in the arts by high school students, more than any other high school in the country
  • Interlochen alumni typically account for 17 percent of the musicians in the nation’s major orchestras
  • 14 MacArthur "Genius Grant" recipients
  • 139 Grammy Awards received by Interlochen alumni, not including the countless Interlochen alumni that have participated in Grammy Award recipient orchestras and ensembles
  • 30 Tony Awards received by Interlochen alumni
  • 25 Emmy Awards received by Interlochen alumni
  • 3 alumni recognized with the Pulitzer Prize

A few of our distinguished alumni


  • Mike Wallace, former correspondent, 60 Minutes


  • Aaron Dworkin, MacArthur Genius Grant recipient; former Dean, University of Michigan School of Music, Theatre & Dance
  • Stephen Hayden, advertising executive
  • Larry Page, founder, Google Inc.


  • Victoria Clark, Tony winner, Light in the Piazza
  • Ashley Park, lead in MEAN GIRLS
  • Anthony Rapp, lead in RentYou’re a Good Man, Charlie Brown
  • Sarah Ruhl, MacArthur Genius Grant recipient, Tony-nominated playwright


  • Tom Hulce, Tony-winning and Oscar-nominated actor and producer, Amadeus
  • Linda Hunt, Oscar-winning actress, The Year of Living Dangerously
  • Ed Helms, actor, The Hangover


  • Brittany Cavallaro, New York Times bestselling author, Charlotte Holmes series
  • Garth Greenwell, author, What Belongs to You
  • Angie Kim, author, Miracle Creek
  • Katie Kitamura, author, A Separation
  • Mary Oliver, Pulitzer Prize-winning poet


  • Vince Gilligan, Emmy-winning executive producer, Breaking Bad
  • Dan Goor, Golden Globe-winning writer and producer, Brooklyn Nine NineParks & Recreation, The Daily Show
  • Our Lady J, Emmy-winning writer and producer, PoseTransparent


  • Janet Eilber, artistic director, Martha Graham Dance Company
  • Liz Lerman, MacArthur Genius Grant recipient; founder, Liz Lerman Dance Exchange


  • Roger Thomas, Executive VP of Design, Wynn Design & Development

Popular Music

  • Norah Jones, Grammy-winning singer
  • Josh Groban, Grammy-nominated singer
  • Damian Kulash, lead singer, OK Go
  • Daya (Grace Martine Tandon), Grammy-winning singer


  • Regina Carter, MacArthur Genius Grant recipient; violinist
  • Peter Erskine, Grammy-winning drummer
  • Bob Mintzer, Grammy-winning saxophonist
  • Byron Stripling, former lead trumpet, Count Basie Jazz Orchestra

Classical Music

  • Nancy Allen, principal harpist, New York Philharmonic
  • Jeanne Baxtresser, former principal flutist, New York Philharmonic
  • Whitney Crockett, bassoon Los Angeles Philharmonic
  • Elaine Douvas, principal oboist, MET Orchestra
  • Rafael Figueroa, principal cellist, MET Orchestra
  • Mark Gould, former principal trumpet, MET Orchestra; professor, Juilliard
  • Carol Jantsch, principal tuba, Philadelphia Orchestra
  • Kim Kashkashian, Grammy-winning violist
  • Rob Knopper, principal percussionist, MET Orchestra
  • Aaron LaVere, principal trombone, Baltimore Symphony
  • Lorin Maazel, former conductor, New York Philharmonic
  • Timothy McAllister, Grammy-winning saxophone soloist and soprano chair of PRISM Quartet
  • Anthony McGill, principal clarinet, New York Philharmonic
  • Jessye Norman, Grammy-winning soprano
  • Harold Robinson, principal bassist, Philadelphia Orchestra
  • Gerard Schwartz, former conductor, Seattle Symphony
  • David Shifrin, Avery Fisher Prize-winning clarinet soloist and chamber musician
  • William Ver Meulen, principal french horn, Houston Symphony