A look at Interlochen Arts Camp 2020 wind ensembles

We are thrilled to announce guest conductors and repertoire highlights for our 2020 Interlochen Arts Camp wind ensembles.

This summer, the World Youth Wind Symphony, Interlochen Wind Ensemble, and Interlochen Wind Symphony guest conductors will include: Caroline Beatty, Scott Boerma, Robert Carnochan, Steven D. Davis, Mary Land, Sarah McKoin, Beth Peterson, Steve Peterson, Matthew Schlomer, and Damon Talley.

These educators will divide their time among the institution’s high school wind ensembles, working with students and conducting the groups in public concerts on Interlochen’s campus.

“It’s important to cultivate diverse experiences within the arts,” Steven D. Davis said. “That’s why we have designed a summer experience with this ideal in mind. Musicians come to Interlochen to play great music, but leave with a summer experience that is life-changing and invigorating. So, we invite those open to the experience to join us this summer!”

This drive to create a diverse experience extends beyond the stage and into the repertoire itself, with works by Carolyn Bremer, Adolphus Hailstork, Jennifer Higdon, Jennifer Jolley, and Omar Thomas among the living composers to be featured this summer.

“We want to be bold,” said Eric Stomberg, Interlochen Arts Camp Director of Music. “What makes Interlochen a premiere destination for musicians is that our respect for tradition does not impede our call for progress. Sending young musicians to spend their summers training with some of the world’s best educators in northern Michigan was once a wild idea. Today, we owe it to that heritage to not rest on our laurels, but to continue to be bold.”

Repertoire highlights will also include standard works by acclaimed composers, such as: Symphony in B-flat for Band by Paul Hindemith, Pictures at an Exhibition by Modest Mussorgsky, and Carl Orff’s Carmina Burana.

We are now accepting applications to attend Interlochen Arts Camp 2020. The full list of large ensemble repertoire and faculty members will be announced at a later date.