Interlochen alumni amongst NFFTY 2019 honorees

Interlochen filmmaking alumni took home awards at the 13th annual event.

The 2019 cohort of NFFTY Award-nominated filmmakers

2019 NFFTY filmmakers. Courtesy: Michael Mittelstaedt

Interlochen Center for the Arts’ alumni were among this year’s honorees at the 2019 National Film Festival For Talented Youth (NFFTY).

Starting in 2007 in Seattle, Washington, NFFTY is considered to be the most influential youth-oriented film festival in North America—showcasing the work of filmmakers age 24 and under from across the world.

The 13th annual event featured more than 280 films by filmmakers from 24 states and 24 countries—including So In A Way by recent Arts Academy graduate Eve Robitshek (IAA 17-19), QUEENS by Abbey Sacks (IAC 11, IAA 12-15), and AŞRI (DISTANT) by Ecegül Bayram (IAC 12), Crystal Zhang, and Konstantin Lyubimov. Kira Bursky’s (IAA 11-14) music video for E.W. Harris’s “Reentry” was also screened during the festival.

Alumni Christina Xing (IAA 15-17) and Shane Bagwell (IAA 15-17) won Best Music Video for their work on fellow alum Claud’s (IAA 16-17) "I Wish You Were Gay.” Bayram’s AŞRI (DISTANT) won the Audience Favorite Award.

“It was really cool knowing I had a family everywhere I went,” Christina Xing told Interlochen Center for the Arts. “It felt just like old times on the Interlochen campus. It’s really comforting having a sense of family everywhere you go.”

Presidential Scholar in the Arts Nathan Ginter (IAC 14-15, IAA 16-18) is a former NFFTY honoree.

Congrats to all the filmmakers involved!