Interlochen alumni among 2018 Tony Awards nominees

Tom Kitt, Dane Laffrey, Michael Arden, and Ashley Park honored for their work on Broadway.

2018 Tony Awards logo

The 2018 Tony Awards will be broadcast on CBS on June 10, 2018.

On May 1, 2018, Leslie Odom Jr. and Katharine McPhee announced the 2018 Tony Award nominees, and several Interlochen alumni were amongst this years honorees.

Former Interlochen roommates Dane Laffrey (IAA 99-01) and Michael Arden (IAA 99-01, IAC 99) received individual nominations for Best Scenic Design of a Musical and Best Direction of a Musical respectively for their work on Once On This Island. Arden and Laffrey’s production received a total of eight nominations, including Best Revival of a Musical. The duo recently spoke with Interlochen about their work on Once On This Island.

Ashley Park (IAC 03) has been nominated in the category of Best Performance by an Actress in a Featured Role in a Musical for her portrayal of Gretchen Weiners in the Best Musical-nominated adaptation of Mean Girls. Another Best Musical nominee, Frozen, features Interlochen alumni Noah J. Ricketts (IAA 09-10) and Lauren Nicole Chapman (IAA 08-09, AS 06-08).

Puppeteer Rowan Ian Seamus Magee (IAC 95-97) works on the current production of Angels in America, which was nominated in 11 categories. Pulitzer Prize-winning composer Tom Kitt (IAC 90) received a Best Orchestrations nomination for his work on SpongeBob SquarePants: The Musical.

Interlochen alumnus Josh Groban (IAC 97-98) is set to co-host the 72nd annual Tony Awards with Waitress composer and lyricist Sara Bareilles on June 10, 2018. Be sure to tune in to CBS and celebrate as Broadway honors the best of the 2017-18 season.