YoungArts Announces First Round of Honorees

Crescendo issue: January 2014
Interlochen Arts Academy students continue to make an impressive showing at the YoungArts Awards. It is all part of a process that culminates in the selection of this year's Presidential Scholars in the Arts, one of the most prestigious awards available to young artists.

This year, 32 Arts Academy students were announced as honorees. Of those, ten students have been named as Finalists, meaning that they will move on to the next level of competition which will take place in Miami, Florida during January.

The honorees from this year's YoungArts Awards are:


Marko Jevtovic (IAA Senior), Design Arts, Serbia
Sage DeAgro-Ruopp (IAA Senior), Soprano, Michigan 
Lena Jafery (IAA Senior), Visual Arts, United Arab Emerites
Ray Seong Jin Han (IAA Senior), French Horn, South Korea 
India Rowland (IAA '13), Soprano, California
William Socolof (IAA Senior), Tenor, New York
Marina Kondo (IAA '13), Musical Theatre, Michigan
Kira Bursky, (IAA Senior), Cinematic Arts, North Carolina
Lixing Chu (IAA Senior), Cinematic Arts, China
Megan Walters (IAA Junior), Short Story, Pennsylvania

Honorable Mention

Thomas Blair (IAA Senior), Visual Arts, Washington, D.C.
Kaci Cummings (IAA Senior), French Horn, Michigan
Olivia Hagerty (IAA Senior), Visual Arts, Michigan
Keara Dooley (IAA Senior), Visual Arts, Wisconsin 
Madison Brownson (IAA Senior), Visual Arts, Ohio
Catalina Gonzalez (IAA Senior), Visual Arts, Puerto Rico
Carly Heathcote (IAA Senior), Visual Arts, Michigan
Leo Taylor (IAA Senior), Percussion, Michigan
Casey Voss (IAA Senior), Percussion, Michigan
Amy Hur (IAA Senior), Clarinet, Michigan
Colin Campbell (IAA '13), Cinematic Arts, Michigan
Hannah Criswell (IAA Senior), Flute, Michigan
Ina McCormack (IAA Senior), Harp, Texas

Merit Award

Ross Bloedorn (IAA Senior), Musical Theatre, Michigan
Tevan Goldberg (IAA Senior), Classical Music Composition, Oregon
Waseem Nafisi (IAA Senior), Visual Arts, North Carolina
Jami Shimon (IAA Senior), Visual Arts, North Carolina
Isabelle Rose (IAA '13), Visual Arts, Dubai
Alexandra Stasuik (IAA Senior), Poetry, Michigan
Caelan Stewart (IAA Senior), French Horn, Michigan
Duairak Padungvichean (IAA Sophmore), Visual Arts, Michigan
Miles Carey (IAA Senior), Play or Script for Film or Video, Michigan

More information on the YoungArts Awards and the journey that these students have taken can be found here.