Students receive Scholastic Award national honors

Seven current Interlochen Arts Academy students have received national honors in the 2016 Scholastic Art & Writing Awards in creative writing and in the visual arts. From the nearly 320,000 works of art and writing submitted to the Scholastic Art & Writing Awards, only the top 1 percent end up recognized on the national level.

National award recipients included creative writers: Sarah Arnett (senior), Alexa Curnutte (junior), Lizzy Lemieux (junior), Annalise Lozier (junior), and visual artists: Katherine Craymer (senior), Yanka Kostova (junior) and Isabelle Perchaluk (senior). A complete list of their works and honors can be found at the bottom of this story.

Since 1923, the Scholastic Art & Writing Awards has worked to celebrate the nation’s best and brightest young artists and writers with a series of regional and national honors. Past winners have included Sylvia Plath, Andy Warhol, Frances Farmer, Truman Capote, Richard Avedon, Joyce Carol Oates and many others.

On Jan. 19, 2016, Interlochen students were the recipients of 100 such regional awards—ranging from accolades in creative writing, visual arts, and motion picture arts. (Learn more about those recent honors in this Crescendo feature.)

In early June, national level Gold Medalists, American Visions and Voices Medalists, Silver Medal with Distinction recipients and Sponsored Award recipients are invited to attend the National Ceremony at Carnegie Hall in New York City.

Congratulations to all of our national recipients and to the dozens of students who brought home regional honors earlier this year.

Interlochen’s nationally recognized students:

Sarah Arnett, Second Chances for the Shell Station on Route 30, Silver Medal (Poetry)
Alexa Curnutte, Life Moving Forward, Gold Medal (Short Story)
Lizzy Lemieux, Garden Girl-For Evy, Silver Medal (Poetry)
Lizzy Lemieux, Matryoshka, Gold Medal (Poetry)
Lizzy Lemieux, Matryoshka, American Voices Medal (Poetry)
Lizzy Lemieux, Sunny Side Up, Silver Medal (Poetry)
Lizzy Lemieux, The Making of a Femme Fatale, Gold Medal (Short Story)
Annalise Lozier, Coriolis, Gold Medal (Science Fiction)
Katherine Craymer, Brainy Bride, Gold Medal (Photography)
Katherine Craymer, Entering the Fantastic, Gold Medal (Photography)
Yanka Kostova, Warm Prison, Silver Medal (Drawing and Illustration)
Yanka Kostova, Resilience, Silver Medal (Painting)
Yanka Kostova, Autopilot, Silver Medal (Painting)
Isabelle Perchaluk, Untitled, Gold Medal (Sculpture)