Briefs: January/February 2019

We'd love to hear from you! Submit your own motif.

Congratulations to our four Grammy-winning alumni: Laurie Anderson (IAC/NMC 62-63), Best Chamber Music/Small Ensemble Performance; Josh Deutsch (IAC 92-96, 98), Best Latin Jazz Album; Kevin Hayes (IAC/NMC 82-83), Best Contemporary Instrumental Album; and Tim Martyn (IAA 68-70), Best Engineered Album, Classical. See the full list of nominated alumni.

Liz Meriwether (IAC/NMC 90, IAC 97-98) is the co-creator/executive producer of the single-camera comedy Bless This Mess, which has been picked up by ABC for a six-episode pilot.

Dan Amboyer (IAC 95-98, IAA 99-02) made his directorial debut on Jan. 23 with the off-Broadway production of Whirlwind. The production ran through Feb. 10.

Kate Tarker (IAA 01-03) made her professional playwriting debut at the Soho Rep. this fall, where her play Thunderbodies played from Oct. 27 to Nov. 18. Tarker is the recipient of the 2017 Paula Vogel Playwriting Award and has also been recognized as a finalist for the Princess Grace Award.

Christian Dante White (IAC 03, IAA 03-04) joined the cast of Broadway’s My Fair Lady as Freddy Eynsford-Hill on Jan. 8, 2019.

Davone Tines (IAC 04) will make his Carnegie Hall debut in the Weill Recital Hall on April 3, 2020.

Chaz Salazar (IAC 07) has been selected to participate in the Sphinx Organization’s National Alliance for Audition Support, an initiative that seeks to increase diversity in American orchestras by providing audition training and support to artists of color.

Noah Ricketts (IAA 09-10) has been promoted to the role of Kristoff in the Broadway adaptation of Disney’s Frozen. Ricketts had previously been a member of the show’s ensemble and an understudy for the character.

Simon Longnight (IAC 12) and Chris Campbell (IAA 11-14) were cast in Lin-Manuel Miranda’s Puerto Rico revival of Hamilton. Longnight played Thomas Jefferson and Marquis de Lafayette, while Campbell was part of the ensemble.