Alumni have strong showing in M-PRIZE Competition

Eight Interlochen Arts Camp and Arts Academy alumni were selected as finalists in the University of Michigan’s annual M-PRIZE chamber competition.

Bassoon Institute alumna Quincey Trojanowski (IAC 15-16) and the KGT Ensemble won the top honors in the Junior Winds category, earning the $5,000 grand prize. Trombonist Michael Turner (IAC 10-11) and the Bone Rangers of Merit School of Music placed second in the Junior Winds division.

The third-place ensemble in the Junior Winds division, Zephyrus Winds, includes four Interlochen Arts Camp alumni: oboist Anne Pinkerton (Oboe Institute 15-16), bassoonist Allen Jiang (Bassoon Institute 15), clarinetist Katia Waxman (IAC 11, Clarinet Institute 14) and horn player Ryan Williamson (Horn Institute 15).

In the senior division, saxophonist Joe Girard (IAC 04) and the Donald Sinta Quartet received first prize in the Winds category. As winners of the Senior Winds category, Girard and his quartet received a $20,000 cash prize. Violinist Mari Sato (IAA 89-90) and the Stratos Quartett placed second in the strings division and earned a prize of $8,000.

M-PRIZE is based at the University of Michigan School of Music, Theatre & Dance, where alumnus Aaron Dworkin (IAA 86-88) is Dean. Alumna Heather Kendrick (IAA 08-11) is Project Director of M-PRIZE.

Congratulations to all our alumni on their fantastic performances!