2016 Annual Drama Desk Award Nominations

The nominations are in for the 61st Annual Drama Desk Awards and Interlochen alumni are proudly featured among those recognized. From set design to outstanding actor and director, our alumni are well-represented in a broad swatch of artistic accomplishments both on and off the stage.

Every year, the Drama Desk Awards celebrates outstanding accomplishments by professional theater artists for their work on Broadway, Off-Broadway and Off-Off Broadway. What sets the Drama Desk Awards apart from other honors is that the awards are vetted solely by theater critics, journalists, editors and publishers covering theaters.

As our alumni continue to light up Broadway, we wish best of luck and congratulations to all those nominated.

Michael Urie will host the 61st Annual Drama Desk Awards on June 5, 2016, at New York’s Town Hall. See below for a full list of Interlochen alumni included in the 2016 Drama Desk Award nominations.

Outstanding Play

The Christians, Playwrights Horizons
Dane Laffrey (IAA 99-01), Scenic Design

King Charles III
Richard Winkler (IAC/NMC 58-63, 65), Producer
Kevin Emrick (IAA 00-03), Associate Producer

Outstanding Musical

First Daughter Suite, Public Theater
Betsy Morgan (IAC 91-92), Tricia Nixon, Susan Ford

Daddy Long Legs
Nell Balaban (IAC/NMC 79-81), Associate Director

Shuffle Along
Christian Dante White (IAA 03-04, IAC 03), Ensemble

Kimiko Glenn (IAA 06-07), Dawn
Henry Gottfried (IAC 06), Ensemble
Diane Paulus (IAC/NMC 75-78), Director

Outstanding Revival of a Play

Cloud Nine, Atlantic Theater Company
Dane Laffrey (IAA 99-01), Set Designer

Long Day’s Journey Into Night, Roundabout Theatre Company
Sarah Killough (IAA 04-06), Cathleen [understudy]

Outstanding Revival of a Musical

The Golden Bride, National Yiddish Theatre Folksbiene
Glenn Seven Allen (IAC/NMC 90), Jerome

Fiddler on the Roof
Alexandra Silber (IAA 99-01, IAC 95-99, IAC St 01-02), Tzeitel
Jessica Genick (IAC/NMC 79-83, IAC St 85), Producer

Outstanding Actor in a Musical

Benjamin Walker (IAA 99-00, IAC 98), Patrick Bateman, American Psycho

Outstanding Director of a Musical

Michael Arden (IAA 99-01, IAC 99), Spring Awakening

Outstanding Music in a Play

Tom Kitt (IAC/NMC 90), Cymbeline, New York Shakespeare Festival