The Academy Year Concludes with Numerous Student Accomplishments

On May 28, 2011, the 194 seniors and 17 post-graduates of the class of 2011 filed across campus and into Kresge Auditorium for the Interlochen Arts Academy’s 49th commencement ceremony. The event was the culmination of a year that included many remarkable student milestones, accomplishments and awards. The list of awards and honors earned by the class of 2011 is extensive. Below are a few of the highlights from the 2010-11 academic year.  

  • The comparative arts program debuted in the 2010-11 academic year and graduates four seniors this year. In a strong showing for the first year of the new major, one of the graduates, Isaac Reilly was named a National Merit Scholar and was a candidate for the Presidential Scholar program. He will attend Yale University in the fall. 
  • In addition to Isaac Reilly, three other Arts Academy seniors were named National Merit Scholars: Benjamin Barg (piano), Timothy Daniels (oboe) and Johanna Weinholts (harp.)  
  • Delali Ayivor, a three-year creative writing major was selected as a Presidential Scholar. She was the 41st Academy student to earn the honor.  Bassoon major Keith Bunke was a semi-finalist for the award. 
  • Eleven Academy students received national recognition from Scholastic. One of the winners, Jeff Kasanoff earned the first National Gold Medal for an Academy filmmaker
  • Arts Academy students received 35 honors and awards from The National Foundation for Advancement in Arts in 2011. 

In May 2012, Interlochen Arts Academy will mark its 50th commencement ceremony with a variety of alumni activities and special performances.