Academy Students Earn High Honors in 2013 Scholastic Awards

Ten Academy students earned national recognition through the 2013 Scholastic Art and Writing Awards. Students' works were blindly adjudicated, first locally through the 116 affiliates of the Alliance for Young Artists & Writers, the presenting nonprofit of the Awards, and then nationally by panels of judges comprised of renowned artists, authors, educators and arts professionals. This year’s list of jurors included Edwidge Danticat, Myla Goldberg, Kurt Andersen, Althea Harper, Red Grooms and Andres Serrano. Works were judged on originality, technical skill and the emergence of personal vision or voice. Teachers of national winners were also recognized with awards.

2013 marks the 90th anniversary of the Awards, and this year’s program attracted more than 230,000 submissions in 28 categories, including dramatic script, journalism, humor, novel-writing and science-fiction as well as painting, sculpture, photography, fashion design, film and animation, and video game design, among others.

Emma Hill – Silver Medal, Art Portfolio
Katherine Watson – Silver Medal, Art Portfolio
Isabelle Rose – Silver Medal, Art Portfolio
Ao Li – Silver Medal, Art Portfolio
Kyungjoo Ha – Gold Medal in Mixed Media
YeJi Yang – Silver Medal in Drawing
Doyun Park – Gold Medal in Design
Doyun Park – Silver Medal in Sculpture
Ao Li – Gold Medal in Sculpture
Olivia Hagerty – Gold Medal in Ceramics and Glass
Olivia Hagerty – Gold Medal and "Best in Grade" in Sculpture

Sojourner Ahebee – Gold Medal for Poetry 
Margaret Abigail Flowers – Gold Medal for Dramatic Script

Camp alumnus in motion picture arts Kaley Maslan-Brown also received a Gold Medal in Animation.